Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

For Julie

this: a photograph
i sent to julie while she
is on holiday

We're not your average couple. We're both disabled, each in our own way, and this means we have to invent uncommon ways to be a couple, sometimes. This time, Julie needed a bit of time away from home, because she usually is housebound (she doesn't drive, and we live in a secluded place, which means she depends on me to go anywhere), and because, let's face it, she has a hard time facing my disability... I get it: she sees me everyday and cannot see my progress as well as, say, someone who only sees me once a week, so it may look to her as if this is going to last forever. Hopefully being apart will make her see me with fresh eyes at the end of the week. We are of course in frequent contact (how could we not be?) and we send each other photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.