shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Candlelight

Yes, I am messing with you - this candle is not a requirement of life on Arran but a pretty luxury of life in Glasgow! But tomorrow will be from Arran, I'm heading down there tomorrow morning, so will try and blip some snow for you.

The repairs are progressing, though given the scale of the task, what is going on on Arran is small compared to what is going on in Kintyre. I don't know if you've seen the pictures on the news, but there are pylons there that look like someone scrunched them up like paper hankies! In their latest YouTube update an SSE engineer used a fantastic image to illustrate it - he said calling this a power cut is like calling a cruise liner a rowing boat! The power which is available now on Arran is all from generators, currently needing 37,000 litres of diesel per day. Kerri and that end of Lochranza got power just after 6pm, so she headed straight for the shower! Catacol looks like getting power on Wednesday, so Mum and I will be spending much of the day with Kerri and family, Mum will also be enjoying the shower facilities and the chance to wash her hair I think even more than the general pleasure of heating! The kids on Arran are off school all week, so you can imagine they are all devastated! There is also now a burger van in Lochranza, so Ross & Abi are happy!

So tomorrow if I get the chance at my sister's I will blip, if not you will have to wait until the power is on in Catacol to catch up with life even more away from civilisation than usual!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.