Bridges

Taking advantage of the easterly wind, which means a take off towards the bridges. A fine sight, although it was a bit hazy this morning, so I've had to mess around a bit in Snapseed to get this level of clarity.

A slightly annoying day in Brussels. The most annoying aspect of it was turning up at the door of the organisation I was visiting and being unable to get inside. They weren't answering their doorbell, nor were they answering their phone. I was mighty tempted to turn around, go back to the airport, and negotiate myself onto an immediate return flight. Luckily some bin men turned up, so that enabled me to get through the front door.

At the end of the meeting, I wandered down the hill towards the Gare du Midi, passing through what was my 'neighbourhood' of St Gilles for a few months in 1982-1983, and through the interesting multi-cultural area where my friend Sybilla used to live before she moved to Geneva, and finally down to the edgy areas just by the Gare du Midi where I certainly wouldn't wander alone at night. Interesting walk, though, and certainly preferable to going on the Brussels metro. More or less anything is preferable to the Brussels metro, apart from possibly the London underground.

Back home in record time, and now catching up on some emails before another early night. Tomorrow I can stay home and catch up on my work. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.