Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A bit of mellow fruitfulness ...

Unusually for me, I was out in our front garden before breakfast today. I don't know what took me, other than the sunshine (it moves round the back by late morning) and the thought that I so rarely look at what grows there, because we usually use the back door to reach the car port. So the photo I'm using comes from there, from our Chilean Lantern Tree (Tricuspidaria) whose red bells turn brown and then split to reveal these white seeds. I once grew a midget tree from one of these, but it fell victim to a lawnmower ... This huge shrub is due for a huge bit of tree surgery over the winter - it's grown enormously in the time we've been in this house.

The morning came after a night of a recurring dream-theme. I suspect it happened when it did because we've been away twice in just over a week, after so long staying in lockdown Dunoon; the first time it happened was when I'd stayed in a French ferme laitiere with a night in a chateau for No2 son's wedding, and then back to the farm, then home a week later. I woke up one morning convinced we would have to get back to the château because we'd left all our clothes there ...

You get the picture? A dream of disorientation and anxiety. Always it involves feeling convinced that I'm only temporarily somewhere, and in my night things - and usually with not much notion of how I'll get back to where I should be. And it survives waking up, so that I'll actually speak about it with great conviction. A variant has me convinced that I own a house somewhere in Scotstoun, in Glasgow, but can't remember where it is or if I've paid the bills. 

Grandchild and bestie now stricken with Covid. Can we stop now, please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.