In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

2013 Challenge - Past

2013 Challenge, week 12: Past
The Past is History......
and with it comes many memories.

My Paternal Grandmother bought this cast iron Lamb Cake Mold. When I was in the third grade, she passed away and her daughter didn't want to continue making the Easter cake.
My mother was pleased to get the mold. She made the Lamb every year with a black jelly bean cut in half for the eyes, pink icing tinting the inner ears, a pink icing nose and mouth and white icing with minced coconut for the wool. It sat on a bed of green tinted shredded coconut "grass" littered with jelly beans. (in view blipfolio)
My Dad always cut the nose off for his piece which drove Mum CRAZY! She wanted to cut from the back and rear to preserve the Lamb face as long as possible.
When Dad passed away, she and my brother returned to California, where she still made the Cake. After years and years of pleading with Mum to have her transfer ownership to me, "Mom, there's only you and Kevin to eat that cake, I have three girls and a husband to help eat it. PLEASE let me have the mold"!
She developed Macular Degeneration, her baking skills became unpredictable, so she agreed.
I became the proud owner of the Lamb Cake Mold.
Since then I have made TWO cakes every year. One for Mum and one for us.
Now MY husband likes to cut the nose of the Lamb because he thinks the oval spot looks like a gaping mouth - which sorta drives ME crazy.
It must be a Y-chromosome thing to want to cut off the nose. Whatever! This first cake is for Mum. We will deliver it on Wednesday.

people: Kevin, Grant
places; bank, grocery store, Arroyo Vista Nursing Center
particulars: Mum is in Hospice, this is probably her last Lamb Cake



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.