Not so lucky

I took a break from being driven mad by flies and manly activities with the chainsaw and fence fixing. (I had to stack the wood I could shift behind a fence because otherwise the cinghiale (wild boar) will send the wood downhill as they incessantly root around. Poplar is surprisingly heavy and treacherous due to its tendency to rot at the base of the trunk. The fallen foliage smells wonderful - a rich spicy perfume - but unfortunately does not repel the little cattle flies that are in abundance at this time of the year. )

I took a drive up our valley and came across other damage from the storm. This little hamlet seems to have suffered grievously with three trees down including this pine that crashed into the lovely barn.

Another kilometre on there was little evidence of the tempest and I was pleased to find Lidls still standing. Japanese-style fine bladed handsaws for €6.99. Naturally I bought both varieties.  Then to the Co-op for sensible things.

It is still remarkably warm up at 25/6C. My sources tell me that the porcini should be in evidence with this warm weather although I have yet to venture into the woods - always tricky as the hunting season is also in full swing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.