ARNSIDE VIEW

A great Qigong session this morning, much needed and appreciated.  Then after lunch it was sunny but blowy so I thought I'd walk around the block.  

This time I went on down Carter Road, then at the bottom did a U-turn along Cart Lane and then the little track heading towards Kents Bank Station.  I haven't done this route for a while because it is quite narrow and not good when trying to socially distance from people.

This view is taken from about half way down Carter Road (very steep).  You can just make out Arnside and just about see the viaduct on the left hand side.

This route takes you right along by the railway line, in fact just above it, so you get great views of The Bay, Humphrey Head and Morecambe and Heysham on "the other side".

I had a little bit of excitement whilst out - I saw a man and his dog walking along the sands in the middle of The Bay!!!!  Eeeekkk!!!  Now this did worry me as I've never seen anyone walking out there before because it is so dangerous.  The only person I've ever seen out there is the Guide To The Bay in his tractor marking out a route.  To start with he was not to far out but he got further out.  

So what to do.  I checked just before I got home and saw that he was heading to the centre of The Bay to the River Kent. When I got in I looked for a Coast Guard number to call to ask for advice, but there isn't one, the only thing you can do is call 999.  So I'm afraid that's what I did.  I was full of apologies and said he wasn't stuck but I was very concerned, I didn't know what the tide was like today but also it is the very well known quick sands out there.  The young lady was so lovely and said I did exactly the right thing and she would create an incident and call Arnside or Carnforth.  Phew.  

Since then I've seen no activing on The Bay but then he was heading towards Arnsiide direction.

Enough excitement for one day I'm now going to chill for the rest of the day.  I've created a collage (see extras) to show some of the things I saw en-route as well as a couple of photos of the man and his dog.  

Do take care everyone, stay safe and have fun.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.