Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Something New

I was thrashing around in one of the weedier parts of what I laughingly refer to as my garden, and stumbled over something flowering that I'd never seen before. I may have seen the "vine" before, but never flowering. I think I've attempted to eradicate it, actually. But anyway - here it is - a brand new flowering thing that I was totally unaware of until now. SEEK says it's "matrimony vine." The Latin name is Lycium Barbarum. Evidently it was brought here from elsewhere (China, of course), is now found all over Asia and "Southeast Europe" and has some other interesting names in the UK - like "Duke of Argyll's tea tree." Anyway - there it is in my so-called garden, just growing wild. The flowers are very pretty! Small, but pretty. I'll stop trying to kill it now. I must say, it's convenient of it to have showed itself to me on Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.