Small canvas is ready

I used impasto and tar gel and a few Posca marks and then sprayed colored inks and turned the canvas to control the drips. I wiped some of the thicker areas to let some color come through areas that seemed muddy. Then I let it all dry. Tomorrow I’ll start drawing on top of this to make the final painting. I had a good talk on zoom today with my friend Lynn. She is one of the woman painters in my book group. We zoom most Fridays at 1:00 and can have from two to eight or nine of us online together. Today it was just Lynn and me. We shared what we’ve been working on and talked about our process. I’ve noticed that some artists do a lot of planning and series of studies as they prepare to create a body of work. I don’t do that. I do sometimes have a subject focus for a group of paintings - like my Venice series, interiors, light and shadow and stairs. But my current series is different. Instead of a subject focus I am more about the process and I’m trying new approaches as I go. It feels less cerebral and more in the moment. Lynn works in very much the same way. It was great to find this common way we have of working. Interestingly our work is quite different. But the dance between our creating and responding to what the creation seems to want next is what keeps us happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.