DDW

By DDW

An Unusual Sight

Something scampering along the deck caught my eye just now.  It looked like it might have been a rat (eek!).  When I went to investigate further, I discovered it was a black squirrel!  I don't think I've ever seen one this colour before.  He was very difficult to photograph, as he was nervous of my presence.  I eventually got a sort of decent image of him once he'd skittered around to the front yard.

Here's an article about this area's black squirrel population if you are interested:  https://bangordailynews.com/2015/11/11/news/the-mysterious-origins-of-the-black-squirrels-inhabiting-lincoln-county/

In other news, we started the buttoning-up process for the winter next door at Sweet Haven.  It's truly odd what some people leave behind!  So far we have "inherited" various articles of childrens' clothing, some toys, one lone (and ugly!) brown throw pillow, a plug-in insect zapper, a collapsible hanging rod for clothing, a lifetime supply of outdoor lights on a string, various combs, and some dubious-looking tubes of ointment (ick!).  Things missing:  a hand-embroidered pillow (grr!), a beach towel, steak knives, and of course the infamous blue chair

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.