Clazel

By Clazel

Leaf Man

Happened across this new exhibition by Laurence Edwards which opened today at Messums Gallery, Harrogate. I really do like this gallery which opened relatively recently.
Worked in bronze, in this sculpture the artist explores how much can be taken from the human form without losing its integrity. Called Leaf Man because of the shapes of the pieces cut out and floated outside the body. It left me wondering about how much humanity can continue to plunder from the body of the earth
The exhibition includes his new work - While the Whole Earth Changes Tune - which can be seen in the background -figures leaning and swaying ‘as if struggling to understand a new paradigm’, as well as bronze heads from his work A Rich Seam commemorating Doncaster’s mining history which has a permanent installion in Doncaster’s town centre.
I’m grateful for your kind comments and interest in my flower mandala yesterday- thank you!
Finally just picked up an email telling me that my Climate Change banner (blipped 1st June) will be included in the Mercer Gallery online exhibition ‘React 2: Our Planet, Our Home’ which opens Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.