A delightful day

Early in the day I went to "castle" Kemnade. Actually the only remnant of the castle is the medieval tower. On the outside it has 16 sides, on the inside it is round. Another remnant is the basement underneath the house. The house itself was built in 1950. The tour was more in the garden, we didn't go into the house. We started by having coffee in the basement.

The present inhabitant took us along outside and told titbits about the history of the house and tower. Like: From the basement you can reach the lower part of the tower. From inside the tower you can't go up. From the house you can enter the next level.

The tour was organised by someone from a local TV show, they have a different outing every Saturday morning. In the East of the Netherlands, Gelderland. I arrived a few minutes late and was immediately in the spot of attention. Oh, I came that far away? How did I hear about it? At the begin and end of the tour we were in a local radio broadcast and I was interviewed twice! 

In the town nearby, Doetinchem, lives my ex colleague who said goodbye a month ago and moved to this part of the Netherlands, back to her roots. I went over for coffee and we had stroll through Doetinchem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.