Oh my, how Sainsburys has changed

Finished uploading my photos from Lincolnshire then drove with Len to Loughborough in thrashing rain. I suppose we could have stayed home but we needed to get out.

I wanted nice cheese. I guessed that Nibbles and Cheese would not be on Loughborough Market in this weather so we parked at Sainsburys instead. The first intimation of change was the Starbucks sign outside. The homely café where you could buy breakfast has gone to be replaced by a Starbucks franchise (pictured.) Makes economic sense I suppose but I shall miss the old café.

The rest of the old area has been made over to Argos.

All the deli counters, the fresh meat and fish, have gone. Buy it pre-packaged or not at all.

I assume the workers were re-deployed in the store.

We finished up in the Baobab Café more or less across the road where we enjoyed latte (me), hot chocolate (Len) and cake. Basil was offered biscuits but he was fed up with having got wet and didn't eat them. The rain had stopped by the time we left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.