Ginny goes swimming.

Went to to observe scent work for dogs and at the same premises they have a doggy swimming pool.  Offering a free puppy session as an introduction I booked her in to see how she enjoyed it.  She's a fast swimmer as she powered her way around the pool.  Dogs are fitted with a buoyancy aid and supported by two assistants.  She certainly wasn't scared but just a little unfamiliar with the concept of swimming I think.  Wasn't all that bothered about swimming after a ball but loved this pool toy and very nearly walked down the slope and out of her depth unaided but just hesitated to take that final step and swim unsupported.  A few more sessions would maybe see her being bolder but I thought it was worth taking up the free offer just to gauge her interest.  She thrashed her tail about wildly  - see extra.  I may pursue the scent work training because she has shown strong tracking instincts.  I think she has come from working stock and will be very good.  Meanwhile she enjoyed today's experience I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.