Water Tower

On my way home today, I was thinking about what to Blip. A road sign indicated West Park Hospital. I know that in this area were various mental hospitals known as the Epsom Cluster built in the early 1900s. They are now largely housing developments, but with some original buildings modernised for housing. I have been to one or two of these sites and found interesting buildings, and today was no exception. On the site of the old West Park Hospital is this magnificent Water Tower. Research shows the intention was to convert it into apartments although it doesn't look like this has happened. On one side of the tower is a small red balcony very near to the top. I could see a huge bird sat on the railings. I have a small pair of binoculars in the car and on looking at the creature I could see it was a Bird of Prey. My research informed me the tower is home to Peregrine Falcons. The extra is of the balcony and the bird but as the photo is taken on my phone, the image is indistinct.
Couldn't believe the weather today after yesterday's torrential rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.