HClaireB

By HClaireB

Dancing around Duchamp

I went to an exhibition in the Barbican Art Gallery today that explores the influence of Duchamp on Cage, Cunningham, Johns and Rauschenberg. If you are interested in that sort of art and music it is fascinating. Clearly it's a minority taste as there were few people there this afternoon - unlike the Bowie exhibition at the V&A which is packed :-)

Cage poem dedicated to Duchamp

we hireD
an aUtomobile
and drove aCross italy
from one Hill-town
to Another,
200 Miles
to sPoleto.

The photo is of my favourite piece of Brutalist architecture, the Barbican Centre, and I'm not being sarcastic either - I do really like it - although it was a bit bleak on this freezng afternoon. I'm going back there this evening for an LSO concert, sadly not being conducted by Sir Colin Davis who had had to withdraw due to ill health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.