Spishy

By spishy

A trip back in time

Well, I have had a most interesting afternoon.

I have spent an hour or so with a new potential client viewing his old family home. He did warn me prior to the meet that the house was quite old and needed upgrading.
BUT I certainly wasn't expecting to walk into such a treasure trove of history. It was right up my alley, I don't mind telling you!
His grandfather was a photographer and his dark room was still as he left it about 50 years ago, with all the equipment and cameras and paraphernalia in there... amazing.
Outside in the beautiful walled garden there is a sunken Victorian greenhouse, A work shed full of antique tools etc etc.
He realised quite quickly that I am a bit of a nerd about history so we spent about 5 minutes talking business and 1 hour 15 mins discussing the history of the house and it's contents.

Anyway, in the old garage he still has his Grandfather's 1937 Hillman Minx, pictured here. Apparently his son is going to try and restore it.

I felt a little sad for him that he has to modernise the property. It has such character and frankly, in the ideal world, it should be preserved as is and made into a musuem. He is worried about how long it will take him to go through all the items and was saying that if I liked anything I could take it. I wouldn't have dreamt of doing such a thing but it was very kind of him to offer.

It made my day going there. I even forgot all about the cold for an hour or so.
Normally I just see boxy houses and flats with no character and paper thin walls.

Some days I do quite like my job :-)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.