momcat1

By momcat1

Another back blip

We spent about 2 lovely hours on the Susquehanna yesterday. Saturday was an absolutely beautiful fall day. Low 70's temps ,blue sky ,and enough water in the river to get down it without any problems. We actually started further up the river this time and it turned out we went about 7 miles. No kingfishers but 4 herons a couple of eagles and loads of mergansers. OK, and  a few of the quintessential ducks- the mallard.I was surprised that we were able to get as close as we did because usually they take off well before we get this close. In spite of two hours on the river I managed to get my garlic in.
Today was the exact opposite - cool, cloudy, and raining part of the day. Only one monarch and a few bees seen during the day. There were some confusing fall warblers spotted in the apples next door, but I am afraid I did not have the binoculars nor the camera as I was putting in (yet another ) flower bed. Which took up a good bit of the day not occupied by church , groceries ,  picking up mushroom compost and dropping off chard and green beans at a friends. And making dinner. and my son's Bday cake. But I got half of the bed done , complete with the miserable edging . One more butterfly bush in and a rudbeckia . Only one because if it does what they usually do in a year I'll be trying to eep it from taking over the butterfly bush. So all in all , yeah , a back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.