West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Holiday Girl

This statue sits in the main road through Gourock just at the entrance to the pier and the railway station. She is beautiful, she is looking longingly to the sea, her bucket and spade in hand perched on her case which beautifully has luggage tags on the rear (out of sight)

I wondered as I looked at her if she was coming to the seaside looking forward to her holiday on the beautiful Clyde Coast or if, in fact, she was taking a last longing look at the sea as she remembered her holiday and was heading home, I love how statues like this can be interpreted in so many ways.

I thought of her in her 50's style on a case from that era and the excitement a trip to the seaside must have been, there is a man walking in the background with his rucksack on, larger than a day-sac and I wondered where he was going as he headed for the station, was he heading home after a visit or heading away maybe never to return and it reminded me of the song Killermont Street by Roddy Frame, a beautiful song about young people leaving Glasgow for London, the song so named as the night bus south left Glasgow along Killermont Street and how it was the last sight many young Scots would have as they left their home city.

I hope you enjoy her as much as I do and if you ever get to Gourock go and see her you wont be disappointed, she will greet you with her beautiful wistful smile and I am sure she will be pleased to see you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.