Propagation

We had a lovely meet up with mum and dad at a garden centre cafe half way between us both. I'm now attempting to root some star jasmine for them from our plant which, by garden centre prices, is worth a fortune - couldn't convince dad to buy the whole lot though!

I remember getting the plant when we first moved in - the garden centre owner felt sorry for me, having just bought a house and not being able to justify the price of the plant I wanted.  I'd asked if there were any smaller. He took me to the plant sickbay and told me I could buy one more cheaply that had broken in transit - it was supposed to be growing like a topiary tree but had buckled and was now shooting from the base.  I was over-the-moon!

It's taken more than fifteen years to slowly grow to eight foot by five foot but the scent on a summer evening is divine - it's still flowering now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.