craftylady

By craftylady

Mono Monday - Inventions of the 18th Century

....Greetings Cards
Although some form of written greeting message had been around for centuries, It was not until the 18th century that greetings cards as we know them today were invented. 
Valentine cards were the most popular form of greetings card in the 1800s.

The first known Christmas card was published in London in 1843 when Sir Henry Cole hired an artist to design a Christmas card for his friends.
With the growth of printing and the postage stamp, cards became more accessible to people other than the elite, who could afford to have them hand drawn and delivered by a servant.
I am sure Sir Henry Cole never imagined that his greetings card would develop into the massive commercial industry it has become.

Many apologies to Laurie54 who is hosting  Mono Monday this month.  I have just read through what I have written and realised I am talking about the 19th century, which is next weeks subject.  If I have time I will delete it and start again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.