Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Head Space

The penultimate treatment at the hospital, followed by a review with the consultant radiologist to discuss my current condition and the impact of the treatment.  Apparently, I can expect things to get slightly worse before they get better.  The treatment is dose related so after having my last treatment I will have had the maximum amount of x-rays.  I’ve been told to expect more urgency passing water and my bowels may become more inflamed over the next week to fortnight.

I still feel I’ve done well.  Yes, I do have some symptoms, but in the great scheme of things I can still do what I want.  Here’s hoping I don’t get any worse and that the current symptoms clear up soon.

To keep me in the right position while receiving treatment I lie with my legs over a moulded wedge and my head rests in this moulding.  The measurements are projected down the centre line of my body and they make sure I am the right distance into the machine.  One of the more comical aspects of the treatment is that the radiologists have to measure this against a small tattoo that was placed in amongst my pubic hairs.  As people have advised me here in the past, you have to suspend your dignity on entering hospital, but I can’t help but be amused at the number of times the team of radiologists have had to furtle around down there to identify the tattoo! Usually they mark me up with felt tip pen to make things easier.

Looking forward to finishing. We intend to reward ourselves by going to see the new James Bond Film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.