movableparts

By MovableParts

Hoodoo-Voodoo

This is a very strange story, so I am fully prepared for you to question its validity. I will preface the telling by saying the name hoodoo derives itself from the Hoodoo spirituality where certain natural forms are said to possess certain powers.

The musician and I had separated on our hike yesterday, as we are want to do. It was late afternoon. I was switch-backing down a steep slope of scree and pine needles when I was drawn to the shadow in the main blip on the hoodoo on the left.  It reminded me a bit of the iconic southwest image of kokopelli, a flute player (like the musician).

As I drew closer to the rock and the shadow, a loud whirring, buzzing sound filled my ears. If you saw the Australian movie Picnic at Hanging Rock, the noise that is heard when the girls are lost in the rock formation is the noise I heard. The closer I got to the two hoodoos, the louder the noise grew until I felt forced to sit down and go no further.  

The noise, the emanations, grew louder. I covered my ears. I felt nauseous. Looking beyond the kokopelli image, I saw the image you can see in the extra.  Darker, more malevolent, malicious, even hostile energy flowed from this entity. Can you see it?  What do you see...horns? a snout? even teeth?

As I sat captive on the ground, my ears continued to pulsate this energy. With short, robotic movements I took photos, though I fully expected either my camera wouldn't work or the photos wouldn't show.  I laid back feeling fully depleted and thought I might just let it go...my spirit...let it fly.  It wasn't a sad feeling at that point...just a readiness.

Eventually, the sound of the flute playing off in the distance, broke the spell, and brought me down to earth.  I was able to stand on very wobbly legs, back slowly away, and circle around that strange pair to where I saw the musician in the hoodoos I posted in yesterday's extra.

Hoodoos are believed by some to hold nature's retributive properties; and the power of the mystic, unseen, and unknown.

On a purely geologic plane, According to Wiki, A hoodoo is a tall, thin spire of rock that protrudes from the bottom of an arid drainage basin or badland. Hoodoos typically consist of relatively soft rock topped by harder, less easily eroded stone that protects each column from the elements. They generally form within sedimentary rock and volcanic rock formations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.