Seriously?

By MerrilHope

L'il Old Me - Melancholy Baby

A colleague-friend's birthday cake eating party conversation led to discussing what we could remember from childhood birthdays.  Coincidentally (or not) Dad came to school for lunch and we ended up talking about some old family photos I have including a couple of me, a lifetime ago,  at that tender-sweet age of earliest memories.  Funny how  independent conversations link together sometimes.  

Today's image is a sketch that I did a couple of years ago (to introduce my students to the concept of self portrait) using one of the photographs that Dad and I were talking about today.  I don't know how old I am in this picture - four? five? - I just know that the original is a photo that Dad holds particularly dear and that I do not remember the occasion at all.  Isn't it interesting that my Dad remembers a 'me' that I do not know ? What do our parents know about us that we do not? Sets me thinking about days gone by.  Melancholy Baby.

He leaves tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.