Transitoire

By Transitoire

Bébé

Lovely morning spent with Beth trying to fit in months of catch-up before her leaving to go back to Saint-Quentin...still seems strange that the next time I will be seeing her is in October. Love having guests to stay, and really love showcasing the awesomeness that is Caen...I'm very glad she enjoyed herself, and both of us managed to escape the evening before with no hangover somehow. Hey, I'm not going to complain!

After meeting with Kendra we headed off to Caroline's house so a very eagerly anticipated event (can you guess from the photograph?). My afternoon was spent with Caroline, Sylvère and their new baby Zoé. And you know what, the calmest baby I have ever spent time with. Kendra and I were there around three hours and Zoé did not cry for more than one minute within that entire time. Turns out she wakes up only once in the dead of night too! Not that I wasn't expecting that to be completely honest, Caroline and Sylvère are just such lovely, calm people that there was no way that their child would be anything but! Did I mention she is also absolutely adorable looking? Well, she is. Not at all one of those babies that you have to pretend is cute so you don't feel awkward disagreeing with proud parents! The connection between the three of them is also already obviously there, little Zoé could not take her eyes off her parents; whenever she cried, it only took one of them to have eye contact with her to have her start her happy gurgling again. Hey, look at me, spouting off about babies. Feel like I should point out that although they are absolutely adorable...I think that feeling might dissipate if I couldn't give one back! I also definitely feel more like a child than an adult; sometimes I debate whether I can look after myself, let alone another human being...

Cannot wait to be the kooky English friend around as she grows up, I really hope I can do this.

So, why this picture...well, my mum knitted this cardigan for Zoé....and watching Caroline and Zoé made me think of my mum and wondering whether her and Dad had the same looks on their faces that I saw on Caroline and Sylvère's . My parents are still on holiday at the moment, and it is quite strange not to have face-to-face Skype contact with them. Being with a newly created family makes you realise just how important your own is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.