Disrepair

We took our Goddaughter for a medical procedure in Fort Washington today. While she was having the procedure we decided to visit Fort Washington National Park. Here is a bit of what I learned about the lighthouse from the web.
 "In 1901 the Board decided to modify the fog bell tower to accommodate a light. It reported that “four new caps were put on the sills of the fog bell tower...and a platform was built on them to support a lens lantern.” The old light tower was soon demolished, and although placing the light atop the fog bell tower was intended as a temporary measure, it is still home to Fort Washington Light today."
The lighthouse is in total disrepair and I'm not sure whether or not there is a plan to save it. There is no excuse to let historical buildings end up in this condition. I feel like our history is being  erased. Once things like this are gone they are gone. 
The extra is my Goddaughter. Always smiling. I'm going to try to take one people portrait a week since that is my weakest point.
Thanks for stopping by.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.