Boo!

I hadn't been around the corner to the community garden for months and months, so that's where my short pre-dinner stroll took me. I love looking at the different ways the gardeners work their plots: what they plant, how they arrange things, if they decorate the space, how they work the soil. One section, I'm guessing about 15x15, is a solid block of blackberry vines. I think of Sleeping Beauty, trapped in her castle. There, kneeling in the very center of the thicket is an old woman, clipping away at the tangle of vines. It's not clear to me how she even got in there, but there she is, trying to free a shrub that's been smothered. She has been away, she says, for over a year, and now is here to reclaim this wild space. I hope she's not swallowed up for another century.

The scarecrow brings Heckle and Jeckle to mind...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.