Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Good News

Five years ago this week, I had a tumour removed from my body. It was so rare that initial biopsies could not be definitively diagnosed in the Pathology Dept at the hospital in Dublin. So they were sent to this man in Treviso,Italy.

http://sarcomahelp.org/profiles/dei-tos.html

He is a world expert on soft tissue sarcoma. I had to wait 5 weeks before I was told if it was aggressive or slow growing. That was a long wait and I was still grieving for my husband who had died at age 55 from cancer the previous year.

I was told it was slow growing but had to be removed immediately.

So I decided I would just keep calm and hope for the best.

That was 5 years ago and today I had my 5 year review after a rake of tests 2 weeks ago.

I got good news today. All scans are completely clear. I am so happy.
My blip is taken from my trip to Treviso in 2017. I wanted to visit the place where this man lived. Because I knew something about him which I heard randomly. When I was operated on in Dublin one of the interns was a delightful Italian lady doctor. She had studied medicine with the TOS and she knew him personally. She told me he grew up in a small village in Italy in a poor family. Because he had a brilliant mind he won a scholarship to study medicine and had worked hard and accomplished much in his life but - she said - he always remained true to his roots and was a quiet and
unassuming man.

When I was there I took a taxi ride past the hospital and waved out the window in a sort of a symbolic gesture of acknowledgment

So my blip today is taken in Treviso in 2017. It is a delightful place and I am sitting in this outdoor cafe having a seafood lunch and thinking what a great place the world is and how wonderful it is to be alive.

So today I got good news and because a little bit of me is quite shallow (yup) I bought myself this gorgeous dress this afternoon. Ain’t it grand

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.