... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Simian Security?

I was hoping to visit the Spirit Collection today, but it fell through (again)... Grrr.

The amazing thing about these monkeys is that even though they're familiar (to me) and static, they seem alive and dynamic; they seem both watchful and naughty, like playful guardians or hoodlums let loose...

We have a loosely blip-esque photo challenge going on in the museum: it is a daily challenge, and a set of 7 pictures is put up on the intranet each week for all the staff to see... It is a tad random though: the organiser doesn't check the metadata so it is 7 pictures a week but not necessarily one for each day of the week. The reason I raise this today is that earlier I noticed something a bit irritating: another submitter has copied two of my pictures! They weren't ones that made the final cut in that particular week, but they were visible in the submissions folder, and now (two weeks later) he has submitted two pictures that are taken from exactly the same locations as photos I took, and composed in exactly the same way (although he didn't get his symmetry aligned/composed correctly).
Hum, I know that there are only so many angles (&c.) to be had in the museum, but the fact that both the point of view and composition are the same (or as near as he could manage) seems a bit fishy to me.
There are no prizes, and the photos aren't even attributed when they're published each week, but I still don't like the feeling of him submitting photos that seem to be reproductions of mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.