"Forward, the Light Brigade!"  
Was there a man dismay'd? 
Not tho' the soldiers knew 
Someone had blunder'd: 
Their's not to make reply, 
Their's not to reason why, 
Their's but to do and die:
Into the Valley of Death rode the six hundred."
Alfred, Lord Tennyson, (6 August 1809 – 6 October 1892)

Alfred Tennyson, 1st Baron Tennyson FRS was an English poet. He was the Poet Laureate during much of Queen Victoria's reign and remains one of the most popular British poets. Wikipedia

Today is National Poetry Day (UK). My absolute fav poem is "Man the Music maker" by Roger Mc Gough, which I have blipped before, so won't again. There are many poems and poets I love, admire and take solace from, I've even been known to write a few myself, but for some reason I have been thinking about my Dad a lot today, who loved poetry, and Tennyson in particular. I have Dad's poetry books and memories of him quietly reading them.

Meanwhile, a patio succulent closeup provides today's image for Abstract Thursday. Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.