BRIANW

By BRIANW

Serendipity From Dial-A-Poem, London

Was late getting into work today due to my rush hour train being only four carriages instead of eight. With people already standing, and a lot of them not bothering with masks, I decided there was no way I was risking my health and so then had to wait another half an hour for the next one. I felt much safer and a lot less anxious when I got on that one instead.
However, on the way to get my now late breakfast coffee I walked down a passageway and spotted today's image. The engraving on the pillar had nothing to do with the window display, it was just pure serendipity! The engraving is a lyrical and illustrative piece of art by the artist Richard Kingsley and is inspired by the May solstice fairs which were celebrated in this part of London which helped give rise to it's name today, Mayfair.
I also found a poem about serendipity by Angela Jackson which contains
the following lines:
Serendipity, what a lovely word,
It means a "happy accident" has occurred,
Another translation is a "pleasant surprise",
Finding something good always opens your eyes.

I couldn't have summed it up better myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.