randomgirl

By randomgirl

The lamb that nearly got away

Saw this lovely lamb (quite a grown up one  now) just standing in my Dad's front garden as I drove past on Saturday morning. I couldn't work out how it had got there, as Dad's gates were both firmly shut.

The sheep farmer came along to try and round it up, but by the time he got there the lamb had disappeared somewhere....(I'd been trying to not scare it, but my Dad came out of the front door and it took fright again).

After what we thought was a thorough search of the garden and all potential escape routes, we were about to give up, but the farmer thought he'd try letting his sheep dogs (a pair of them) have a sniff around the garden first, just in case....

The dogs found it hiding behind my Dad's coal bunker and it was deftly grabbed by the farmer before it could run off. I felt pretty sorry for it, having to be carried off in such an undignified fashion and put on the back of the truck along with the dogs - but at least it will have been happy once it was returned to the rest of it's flock again.

By the way, we think it probably got in the previous afternoon by slipping through a gap in the hedge, just as the flock were being moved to a new field and walking past my Dad's house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.