Chicken and kale

We worked chicken manure into the garden this fall before we planted kale. The plants I got from the Amish greenhouse were the castaways as I was late buying them. We planted 3 varieties, Winterbor, Redboro, and a new one for me, Starbor. If you plant kale I would strongly recommend all of these. You can see how large the leaves get. This may be the best patch we have grown so far. Very tender and so easy to pick as the plants get pretty tall. The extra is part of the kale patch. I planted 4 rows. Today I froze 3 blanched packed quarts. I also froze one pint I will use in Zuppa Toscana soup and we cooked a large pot for dinner to go with our wings. I still have one row to pick. It will produce all winter and gets even better after a hard frost.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.