A Gorgeous Day

One of a kind.  Just the right temperature -- cool but not cold, clear with the most amazing big, fat clouds skimming along in the sky. (See Extra). 

I had an appointment with my eye clinic to adjust my new glasses which I've been unhappy with since I picked them up last week.   Much to my surprise, there wasn't even a whiff of hesitation to replace them and rectify the tinting error.  They were almost like dark glasses.   So, in ten days or so I'll have a new pair which are much lighter and will be tinted properly, and have lovely blue frames -- something different.  I don't know why such compassionate service surprises me but then, I've been going there for 30+ years.  After that, I went to my favorite book store to pick up a specially ordered book called "Russian Splendor: Sumptuous Fashion of the Russian Court".  Sumptuous indeed.  They are beautiful clothes but it's hard to believe anyone could endure wearing such heavy, restrictive things for more than a minute or two.

I ended up at Marine Park which was the perfect spot to finish a nice day and I would have stayed there were it not for the fact that I had stopped at our one-of-a-kind gelato store and bought some of my favorite treats which were quietly melting in the car.  I should have stopped there last.  

The whole day made up for yesterday which was spent at my doctor's office so we could discuss the spinal injections he's been giving me to see if they help my back pain.  They haven't helped and for some reason, I was stressed out to the point that my heart rate plunged to 37 and they called the paramedics to take me to the hospital.  Against their advice and the doctor's, I declined because I knew that unless the paramedics delivered me to the emergency room with nothing less than a severed artery, I would be in for a minimum of five hours waiting for some sort of evaluation.  Talk about stress.  My heart rate returned to an acceptable level so I went home and spent several hours with a soothing cup of tea and a long rest.  Monday I see the cardiologist.  What fun.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.