The Tailors of Taste

Up horribly early and on our way to Cork by 7.30am. The forecast was terrible and I thought we'd hit the rush hour but in the event there was only mizzle and minor traffic. I left Will on the bus for Dublin airport - what a long journey for him - he should be just about landing in Bristol now (5.30pmish). Great to see him though we were a bit thwarted by the weather.
As I hadn't been to Cork for about two years and it wasn't lashing I had a little explore. First stop some culture at the Crawford Gallery which was looking sparkling after some new paint - on the walls as well as on canvas. The main show was  drawings by Rembrandt on loan from the Ashmolean - tiny and exquisite and very human. I also like the Patrick Scott room, all golds and oranges, deeply calming. I then had a wander around - some areas faring better than others but lots of interesting details to admire and ponder on.  I love mosaics - Burtons has long since left this building but the old mosaic remains as does some fancy lettering high up on the facade. 
Sore footed, time to come home but I'd not parked in the usual car park, forgot to turn left and found myself en route to Limerick - via Blarney. In fact I seemed to go round Blarney twice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.