RegardsFromEdin

By RegardsFromEdin

Raintown

I read my book, made bread, caught up with some programmes, another book...... it was still chucking it down and I could put off my run no longer.  

Shorts and tee (cause it was 17 degrees) and OMM waterproof.  I was tackling 10km in the pouring rain so I needed some music to get me round.   It had to be Deacon Blue - I can't remember the last time I listened to the album Raintown.   I saw them live a few times but for some reason the August 1988 Festival for a Nuclear Free Scotland at Meadowbank sticks in my mind.  Aztec Camera and Deacon Blue!

Today's route went round Charlotte Square, along Young Street to St Andrews Square then a cut through St James Quarter to get onto Regent Road.  This photo of the Nelson Monument on Calton Hill was taken from outside St Andrew's House (now a Scottish Government office).  I turned down Abbey Mount at the end of Regent Road.  Bizarrely there was a red London double decker bus doing afternoon tea stuck under the bridge at Abbeyhill and trying to reverse back, causing an almighty tail back!

Uphill on Holyrood Road and West Port was a killer but I still had to do a loop of the Meadows to make up the 10km!  Jiggered - really!

A WhatsApp call with old work colleagues at 5pm - I'm not sure I had the energy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.