Basking

Thanks to all who posted kind comments on my anniversary blip- lovely to see both old friends and a few new names. 

This morning KP and I set up our mini-exhibition at Maxey Village Hall. I have to say it looked very nice, and was a varied mix of cyanotypes, abstract photographs and hand-made papers (me) and miniature moth sculptures made using fly-tying techniques (KP). 

It took longer to set up than I'd anticipated, but still just about left time for a walk along the bridleways and footpaths of Etton and Maxey in some surprisingly warm sunshine. There were still plenty of Common Darter on the wing, including some mating pairs. This male was soaking up the sun on the end of a piece of drainage pipe.

On my way back to the car I was stopped by a couple who asked me whether I'd seen the otter. I hadn't, but it turned out that there'd been an earlier sighting in a different place, and I was able to direct them to it. We then got chatting about wildlife and conservation - I always seem to meet interested people when I'm out! I eventually had to dash so that I was back in time to take Alex to work...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.