YUCCA FLOWERS

My walking partner invited me to her back garden to see her blooming YUCCA plant.
It is looking very happy after our short rain
overnight, the second shower this week.
We were hoping those big clouds would
bring more, but alas, no.

I have never grown this perennial plant, & am surprised it is native to the hot dry parts
of North & South America. There are 40-50 species, some that can thrive in -0 temperatures. They also grow indoors, where they thrive on neglect, as long as they are in a sunny corner.

The white, bell shaped flowers bloom at night, every few years, & attract a Yucca moth, its only pollinator.

As I look around my friend’s garden, I think she has many varieties. This is the perfect place for them, because the afternoon sun
is intense in the Summer, in her garden.

Maybe they would be good for my front garden….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.