Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

A pair of pince-nez

Many moons ago Mistress Talpa couldn't think what to buy me for my birthday and so she  bought me a pair of antique gold pince-nez! 
Pince-nez is a style of spectacles, popular in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, that are supported without earpieces, by pinching the bridge of the nose. The name comes from French pincer, "to pinch", and nez, "nose".
Although pince-nez have been  used in Europe since the late 14th century, "modern" ones appeared in the 1840s and reached their peak popularity around 1880 to 1900. Because they did not always stay on the nose when placed, and because of the stigma sometimes attached to the constant wearing of eyeglasses, pince-nez were often connected to the wearer's clothing or ear via a suspension chain, cord, or ribbon so that they could be easily removed and not lost.
I am due at the opticians for my eye-test on Monday, perhaps I should wear them for the visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.