Reunion.

My Aunt died last October, and of course, because of lockdown restrictions. we weren't able to say goodbye in the usual way. So today we had a celebration of her life. It was wonderful to meet up with so many of my cousins, it's over 50 years since I've seen most of them. That's terrible really, but it's how things go when you live in different parts of the country, and then have families of your own. This is me with my cousins Pam and Jan. It may be 50 plus years since we were together, but we got straight into step, and the years just melted away.

My Aunt kept so much paraphernalia from her long life. In extras is a picture of her wedding dress made out of an old WW2 parachute, remodelled a second time (worn by a cousin of hers first time round.)

The other extra is a letter written by my Mum in September 1953 after the birth of Pam. I know this date is correct as she'd also kept the envelope, and, unlike these days, the postmark is perfectly clear! It appears that my parents were hoping for a boy! They got me instead, but then I always was a Tomboy. I know they were pleased with me when I arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.