Milly

I procrastinated somewhat, finding myself in need of a blip too late to do anything before I went to work. I thought I might get a fluke shot en route of the badger I've seen snuffling along the side of the road recently but, of course it didn't appear.

I got to work and decided to try to get a shot of Milly. W.'s Jack Russell is a very sweet little dog but full of complexes, one of which is camera shyness. Enough she see's one and she'll leg it with her tail between her legs. I cornered her on the chair and just managed to get this before she escaped behind her owner, who, for her privacy, I don't name let alone photograph.

Born on a puppy farm, W., who had been looking for a very small breed Jack Russell, couldn't resist rescuing her from a very dubious breeder. When she was brought home, she sat in the palm of my hand trembling, a very sick little puppy. Riddled with worms and mange, it was hard to believe that such a small creature could harbour the number of fleas in her coat and was probably a few weeks older than the bastard breeders suggested. She had been severely mistreated and was terrified of her own shadow.

She's a happy little dog now but still bears the scars of her beginnings. She's frightened of, amongst many other fears, unfamiliar sounds, wires, boxes, bins and most people and every other dog. Even people that are closest are barely able to get near her. I've been giving her her evening treats for nine years, she know's I wouldn't hurt her, yet, it's very rarely that I can give her more than a fleeting stroke. If my dogs come with me, terrified, she jumps in my arms for protection.

Milly has been an excellent companion for W, but, is the epitome of why puppy farms should be avoided at all costs. People that 'rescue' the puppies, all too often, end up with problem dogs and, worse still, give the breeders reason to continue their sinful practises.

So here is Milly. It's not often I get an unblurred shot of her face!
It's one to print off for W. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.