Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Englander House

I got out for my walk much later than usual today, as this happens to be Fleet Week in San Francisco, and for several days running, the Blue Angels precision flying team has been roaring around the city. Several times today, at least one of the fighters made a fairly low pass over our building, and my kitty cat was extremely freaked out, running this way and that, looking for a place to hide. Eventually, I picked her up and put her on a blanket on top of my gear bag in a closet, and I stayed close to her whenever it sounded like another violation of our air space was imminent. So, I decided not to leave the apartment until the flights stopped. Mere words can't describe how much I hate Fleet Week (and fireworks, for that matter).

So, I headed downtown with the sun just barely above the hills. By the time I got near City Hall, there wasn't much direct sunlight present anywhere, so I made the turn homeward, walking up Fulton Street toward where this 139-year-old Victorian house sits. The house was moved on a flat-bed truck about six blocks from its previous location last February. I check in on it occasionally to see how much progress has been made with the renovation, but the barrier makes it a bit difficult to see. No doubt much has to be done on the inside as it has been sitting vacant for as long as I can recall in its previous location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.