No sign of spring

Black ice? I couldn't resist going back and blipping this road sign that I spotted and photographed yesterday not far from where we live. Five minutes after I took this picture I was up the road getting this shot showing how the icicles were formed, and they all fell off.

The display was unusual for a number of reasons. The cold snap came after heavy rain that formed a big puddle. The road is narrow here so cars are forced to go through the water and they often do it at speed. So the frost was not hard enough to freeze the puddle but cold enough in the air to make the icicles.

I see the frogs were spawning in the pond this time last year. No sign of them here yet.

NB. I felt compelled to blog on this man today. Nice chap in many ways, but I do worry that people are beginning to talk of him as a future PM. He's popular enough to go all the way - that's what worries me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.