Who I am

The following conversation has been fabricated with a heavy dollop of poetic license, but the gist of it is true.
‘What’s the prognosis?’ I said to the young doctor.
‘Have you made any plans for the future?’
‘One or two,’ I said.
‘Then keep making them, you will have plenty of time.’
‘Ya beezer!’
 
This set me thinking about my origins. My parents were cabin stewards on SS Malmo in 1953. I am reasonably sure this is where I was conceived. The Wilson Line ship sailed from Hull in England to Swedish ports including Stockholm and Malmo. It was mainly a cargo vessel and carried only twelve passengers. I was brought up by my mother and know little of my father who has proved to be untraceable. But I got this postcard on Ebay. It turns out at they are far from rare, but it is precious to me.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.