A diary of sorts

By Tempus_Fugit

Beinn a Glho

Hill of the Mist, a large mountain covering 15 sq miles and consisting of three Munros.

I first ran here back in 2016 during my racing snake days, however due to some very tough winter conditions we only managed two of the three Munros.  While I'm not a Munro bagger it did niggle that the highest peak had not been reached. I knew I'd have to return.

Earlier this summer, the shift patterns aligned and we set aside a day a few of us to head back up.  Unfortunately,  lightning was forecast for the area, it would have to wait for another time.

A month or so later another day was scheduled for a run, only for one of the crew to put her back out the day before. Once again, we had to defer, it was starting to feel like something was working against us.

Fourth time lucky. Or maybe not.

Last night Jane was up through the night looking after an unwell boy. I was in A&E waiting for a Tetanus injection (best not to ask!) until 01.30, the forecast was rubbish too. Time to leave it yet again....not a bloody chance!!

So glad we did go for it, brilliant day in the mountains with good friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.