Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Walking home from school

I asked Bella and Evan if their teachers said anything about Indigenous People's Day today. 

"We had a video," Evan sighed. "It was boring."

"They had a different video for each grade," Bella added. "They just told us their names and where they lived. You wouldn't even know from those videos that there were any Native Americans still alive." 

I'm glad we had Sunday. If you're going to teach the bloody truth, instead of some white-washed fairy tale, you've got to do it yourself.  

P.S. I almost forgot to mention: as their mom drove me home tonight, we passed Wells Fargo Bank and noted that it is covered in something that looks like milk but will probably be harder to remove, and then in red letters on top of the white, LAND BACK. I know a few people who might have had something to do with that. (Raises fist in the air.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.