Gaunt after the long migration

I needed my afternoon jog today. The first ZOOM meeting began at 0800. Not only was that a half hour earlier than most mornings, it set the tone for the meetings to follow, as I tended to be somewhat challenging of some assumptions and approaches being considered. I was not alone, and I think that some things were reconsidered with a better path being identified.

Sitting and looking at a computer screen is not a restful way to spend a working day, so getting out and down to the great expanse of low tide Snells Beach, where I could pick out the Kuaka (bar-tailed godwits), Tuturiwhatu (NZ dotterel), Torea (variable oystercatcher), and white-faced herons. The gulls left me alone today, which was good as being flown at by a screeching gull is not relaxing. They are impossible to ignore; for me anyway.

Of the photos I took, I have chosen one of a kuaka, which didn't immediately run further away. It is obviously in need of building up its body after the long migration from Alaska. And like its fellows, it was feeding almost frantically. One of the others was so determined to uncover whatever food it was seeking under the shallow water, its head was completely submerged.

What three days ago had been looking like a rapid increase in numbers of new cases of covid infection, has changed again with two days of falling numbers. I can see why Singapore decided to cease reporting daily new case figures, and instead concentrate on increases in the vaccination numbers. I learned today that about 80% of the patients under the care of our community mental health services have had at least one Covid vaccination. 

Today is day 56 of lockdown for Auckland; the first five weeks were at level 4 restrictions, and the last three have been at level 3. Lots of people are feeling distressed by the restrictions continuing. They will be lessened when the vaccination numbers are better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.