Golden spider wasp

This wasp hunts spiders, paralyses them, drags them to its nest and then lays its eggs in the spider's stomach. I can only hope that the wasps venom induces a feeling of euphoria in the spider.

While the wasp's distribution is south Eastern Australia, in 1960 it was accidentally introduced into New Zealand.

I wish it had chosen to sit on a plainer background. Also, it's a lot more interesting when its wings are spread, but this was as much cooperation as I could get. I should feel lucky that I could photograph it at all as it darts about like a mad thing, hardly landing and then only briefly.

More detail on the golden spider wasp is in the link:

https://www.citscihub.nz/Phil_Bendle_Collection:Wasp_(Golden_spider_wasp)_Cryptocheilus_australis

Thanks for hosting KangaZu. Stay well all.

Edit: I am so excited! At last I found a beautiful moth. It's the extra. It's a green blotched moth, a species of owlet moth (Noctuidae), Cosmodes elegans. Its distribution is eastern Australia, Norfolk Island and New Zealand. Now I have to get a message to Dreich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.