Wooden Bridge and Foliage at Greenwood Furnace

It was our first visit to Greenwood Furnace State Park since the beaches closed. So we were there, but we were not swimming, which felt very strange indeed. Also, they have drained the lake down several inches in preparation for necessary repairs on the dam. There is no water going over the spillway for the first time I can remember and there is mud everywhere.

What we did do was to walk all around and look at things, including the little cemetery that contains graves of both Revolutionary War and Civil War veterans. The graveyard is across the road from the spillway, accessed via a wooden bridge. What you see in this photo is the lovely foliage colors around the bridge, the best colors I spotted in the park on this day.

My soundtrack has to be for a bridge, so I'm using a Bridge School performance by David Bowie. The link goes to a video that includes the acoustic performance of several songs; the first is my favorite, Heroes. (And yes, let me point out that percussion is provided by a bottle cap strapped to Bowie's shoe at the start of the performance. Low-tech but effective!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.