The Great Glen

This photo may not look like much, but there's something a bit special about cruising through the Great Glen.  The scale of Loch Ness, the steepness of the surrounding mountains, the big sky, the awareness of more than 200m of water under the keel.  Nothing individually sensational, but collectively impressive.

Many years ago I had a job with a survey company that had its own boat.  On one occasion I'd been working on the boat on the West Coast and it was coming back through the Caledonian Canal.  I arranged to stay on board and work there, thinking I'd enjoy coming through the glen.  Something came up and I had to come back by road to work in the office, but I'd fancied making the trip ever since.

It's nice to be getting round to it now - twenty something years later... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.